Calming Chaos

Everyone hates chaos, it’s unproductive and unwelcome by most people but for me chaos just brings anxiety.  I interpret chaos in many different ways, spontaneous activities where no one has a plan, clutter building up in places because it has no where else to go, everything on the ‘to-do’ list needing equal prioritisation.  In my head, chaos leads to overwhelm and overwhelm stops the job.

Over the last few months I’ve been trying to clear out our space and make every area work  better. I’d like to say I jumped on the Marie Kondo bandwagon and tell you that all of my socks stand up like soldiers, and all of my t-shirts are folded and arranged standing up so they can be seen at a glance … but no.  I did read her book, well a bit of it, but I couldn’t get past the part where she says you have to get every piece of clothing you own in the middle of the room and sort it out from there. I don’t have time for that shit. I get about 30 mins max during nap times so I have to take what I can get. I did, however, like her ‘if it doesn’t spark joy, get rid’ concept so I’ve adopted that as a basis on which to make the decisions about what stays and what goes.

The shed and the playhouse was the first areas to be tamed, and that set the precedence for the rest of the house. I thought it would take about an hour.  It actually took 6 hours and two trips to the local tip.  Nobody needs to keep three lawn mowers and half of an old pram ‘just in case’. The more I did it, the more I started to enjoy getting rid of stuff and it actually had a really positive affect on my mindset.  It’s as though clearing spaces in my home  also clears space in my head … and I like it.

I would love to be a minimalist, a real one who only wears monochrome and only owns three pairs of shoes but I have two tiny children, a husband with hoarding tendencies so it’s never going to happen.  I also actually like having ‘stuff’ but now I’m just a bit more particular about the stuff I choose to keep.

Leave a Reply

