Living in Limbo

I set my return to work date the other week and rather than feeling sad that my maternity leave is coming to an end, I’m actually looking forward to getting back to the grind.  I’m really grateful that I live in a country that allows mothers (or fathers) to take the time away from work to tend to their newborn’s every need, but being away from work is like living in limbo.

I spent the months before baby, counting down the days until I didn’t have to set the alarm for work, and spend my days however I chose.  Then the first months post birth, you are mostly just surviving, just getting through each day without actually overdosing on coffee, sugar or gin.  The middle bit seems to go over in the blink of an eye, usually because you get distracted with weaning paraphernalia, purees and baby yoga.

So now I find myself in the ‘limbo’ phase.  This is when you can see your return date in the distance and you start getting in a slight panic about how you will get everyone where they need to be, with everything they need to have, with just enough time to spare before the gates are locked in front of you.  You then also need to factor back in that time it takes to make yourself look presentable to outside world.  Wearing Lycra and pretending that you look rough because you’ve just come out of the gym, isn’t going to cut it at the Monday morning meeting.

I think the only way to do it is to ease myself in gently.  Tomorrow I will ditch the legging and brush my hair, the school mams aren’t going to recognise me!

Leave a Reply

